My Top Ten Favorite Cheesy Movies

Top Ten {Tuesday}

In addition to my love for reading, I also love movies. I love all kinds of movies. I love great classics, science fiction, romance, comedy, action… You name the genre, and I bet I can find at least one movie within it that I absolutely adore. That being said, my movie choices aren’t always “mainstream popular.” My husband, in fact, would tell you that I have terrible taste in movies…which is SO not true…mostly. I mean, HE thinks Starship Troopers is a fantastic movie! (And should I mention how much he likes the movie, Spice World? You know, the Spice Girls movie? Nah, I won’t mention it…that would just be mean.) I like all the Twilight movies, but they aren’t on this list. They may have a definite cheese factor (“You’re like a drug to me…”), but as a teacher, I read the books first and they were captivating, if not classically written.

So, my movie preferences may run toward less-popular titles, but I’m okay with that. Some are more mainstream, but are still definitely cheesy. There are a few movies that I really, really like that I’m embarrassed to admit…but only a little embarrassed, and probably just because my hubby makes fun of me for watching them. Here are my Top Ten Favorite Cheesy Movies, in no particular order.

10. What a Girl Wants, starring Amanda Bynes – This is a family-friendly movie, a little on the teeny-bopper side. It is really cute, and mega-cheesy, but I absolutely LOVE it! In fact, I own it, and when I’m having a not-so-great day, I pop it in and instantly start to feel happier. I think Amanda Bynes is such a great comedic actor in almost everything she has done! (I haven’t seen She’s the Man, although my nieces can quote it word for word.)

9. The Cutting Edge, staring Moira Kelly and D.B. Sweeney – This one is definitely old-school, and I’m still young enough to not care if that dates me at all. It’s from the early 90s, so if that’s old-school for me, I suppose I’m not doing too bad. I’ll always remember growing up, any time my sister or I did anything stupid in front of each other, saying, “Toe pick!”

8. Snakes on a Plane, starring Samuel L. Jackson – This has to be one of the top cheesy movies of all time. The title alone is enough to make people cringe. Don’t worry. I didn’t rush out to the theater to watch it. I didn’t even order it on Netflix. I caught it when it came on cable…and I have watched it more than once since then. It’s not all bad! It’s full of action, albeit within a very limited setting. And, come on…Samuel L. Jackson is just cool!

7. Dream a Little Dream, starring…the Coreys – I have not watched this movie since Corey Haim died last year. It’s not because it would bring up too many sad memories. It’s honestly just because I don’t own it and it doesn’t often come on TV. I think I need to check to see if it is available on Netflix. I was probably in middle school when I discovered this gem, and I have loved it ever since. Embarrassingly or not, this is probably one of my very favorites. Corey Feldman channeling Michael Jackson in a dance scene was just fun!

6. Footloose, starring Kevin Bacon – This. Is. A. Classic. I don’t care what you think. As cheesy as it may be, and I can face the truth about it, it is simply a phenomenal movie. It might not have as great of an impact today as it did in the 80s, but it’s still a great story. The remake of this movie is due to come out this year. I’m already preparing myself to be disappointed. Julianne Hough may be a great dancer, but she doesn’t seem like a rebellious preacher’s daugther to me. And Kenny Wormald? Who the heck is that?

5. Independence Day, starring Will Smith – Aliens! Destruction! Jeff Goldblum! I love it all. I think if this movie were rereleased in the theater I might actually pay (again) to see it on a big screen with surround sound. It’s a great end-of-the-world sci-fi flick. Period.

4. Flashdance, starring Jennifer Beals – Admit it. If you were born before 1990, chances are you’ve danced in the middle of your living room, belting out, “She’s a maniac, MANIAC, on the floor!” I can’t remember how old I was when I first saw this. It does have a lot of boobs in it, but you know, a girl has to make money somehow. It’s a truly cheesy love story. Poor welder girl who moonlights as a stripper catches the eye of her extremely wealthy boss… That’s totally how I met my husband! Haha!

3. The Day After Tomorrow, starring Dennis Quaid – It’s another end-of-the-world movie! There are no aliens, but there is a massive ice storm that freezes everyone within seconds of being exposed to it. And there’s a dad, who happens to be a climatologist, that must trek across the country to save his son, who happens to be trapped in the National Library. This movie is total cheese at its best. Whenever this one is on TV I watch it. It might be the movie that my husband makes fun of the most.

2. Sweet Home Alabama, starring Reese Witherspoon – I think this movie is fun. It’s not the cheesiest movie on this list, by far. There is one particular line that always, for no apparent reason, pops into my head. I think that this line might be what adds to the cheese-factor for me. “You have a BABY…in a BAR!” I live in Texas, and although it’s fairly different from Alabama as a whole, I’m sure that there could, at some point, be a time in my life when I would actually get to use that statement.

1. Bring It On, starring Kirsten Dunst – I am not now, nor have I ever been, a cheerleader. I had friends who were cheerleaders, even in college, so this movie should not have appealed to me. Each sequel, and I haven’t even seen them all, gets progressively worse. So, while this movie may have been tolerable, and is definitely cheesy, it’s also kind of like a train wreck – you just can’t look away! The most memorable line from the movie isn’t even from this actual movie, it’s from Not Another Teen Movie. But whenever most people hear the title, Bring it On, they think, “Oh, it’s already been broughten!”

This list is my no means comprehensive. I could easily write a Top 100 on this topic. I think this is a pretty good representative sample of my tastes, though. Don’t make fun of me. I know there are probably many worse movies on your list!

Have a top ten list of your own? Click the Top Ten Tuesday link at the top of this post and share your list on Oh Amanda’s Top Ten Tuesday Link-Up!

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah aka SoxyLady
    Jun 21, 2011 @ 13:33:43

    Stopping over from ‘oh Amanda’ — I’d add quite a few of these to my list too! I’d also add ‘The Proposal’, ‘The Fast and the Furious’ (and sequels), ‘Top Gun’ — oh this is fun, maybe it will be my top ten next week 😉

    Reply

  2. Amanda @Wandering
    Jun 21, 2011 @ 14:20:10

    I have not seen about half of these movies. They may be added to my netflix. But the Cutting Edge – I think I have watched that about two million times. What’s not to love?

    Reply

  3. Miranda
    Jun 21, 2011 @ 15:03:32

    Heehee – love your list! I’m always up for a great, cheesy movie; they’re the best kind ;).

    Reply

  4. Nickeletta
    Jun 21, 2011 @ 15:11:01

    I love the Cutting Edge!!! And our family watches Independence Day every chance we get.

    Reply

    • Somer
      Jun 22, 2011 @ 00:25:16

      Independence Day seems to ALWAYS be on TV at least once or twice a week, it seems. I think it’s one of the more popular cheesy films.

      Reply

  5. Sweet Tea Serendipity
    Jun 21, 2011 @ 15:46:01

    I love What a Girl Wants, Bring It On & Sweet Home Alabama! Great choices! I still want to/need to see Footloose though!
    Check out my top ten vacation destinations: http://sweetteaserendipity.blogspot.com/2011/06/ten-on-tuesday-3_21.html

    Reply

  6. ememby
    Jun 21, 2011 @ 20:48:11

    I’ve seen all but #7 and #8 and I gotta say, while they wouldn’t be all on my list of top cheesy movies, I did enjoy them all, cheesy factor or not.

    Reply

    • Somer
      Jun 22, 2011 @ 00:33:52

      Snakes on a Plane was not intentional. I resisted even the idea of the movie for a long time. One night when hubby was out of town I was channel surfing and it was just starting. I completely got sucked in and had to know how it ended! Haha!
      Now, Dream a Little Dream… It’s totally and completely cheesy, but it has always been a favorite. I love the soundtrack, too!

      Reply

  7. ememby
    Jun 21, 2011 @ 20:48:39

    PS Also love that you outed your husband’s love of Spice World 🙂

    Reply

  8. Olusola
    Jun 21, 2011 @ 21:35:07

    I thought I like cheesy movies but I’ve only seen one on your list – Independence Day. I need to up my movie IQ I think

    Reply

    • Somer
      Jun 22, 2011 @ 00:36:10

      Oh, wow! If I had to pick the top three for you to start with it would be What a Girl Wants, Footloose, and Sweet Home Alabama. 🙂 Let me know if you watch any of them!

      Reply

  9. Bridgesburning Chris King
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 22:03:21

    I’m with you on about half of them so will check out the others except for the snake one!,
    Chris

    Reply

Leave a Reply

