Girls Night Out: Geriatric Style

I admit it. I have a fabulous husband…most of the time. 🙂 We argue, bicker, and nag each other like most every other normal couple I know. One thing he never does is complain when I want to hang out with my friends. Being a mom, this isn’t extremely often, but when it happens, it’s great to have his support.

In the past week I’ve been blessed to have fabulous friends that have encouraged me to just get out of the house and sit with them in a different setting. I’ve been to happy hour with my BFF and her sister, another awesome friend of mine, and had a fantabulous margarita. I’ve also been to my friend, K’s house, where we sat outside on her porch with a bottle of wine playing Rummy-O and chatting for literally hours!

If it weren’t for these friends at this moment in my life, I am pretty sure I would be a hermit. I would do all of my shopping online and “let” my husband get groceries or anything else we needed. (Isn’t it nice of me to be so generous with giving out chores and errands?)

Why don’t I hang out with my girlfriends more often? That’s pretty easy, at least on the surface. One, I’m a mom and I have a responsibility to my two beautiful children. My hubby never minds flying solo with them, but I like to be there for them anyway. Two, I’m currently unemployed (and hoping to remedy that soon). We are trying to subsist on one teacher salary, which is a feat in creative budgeting, to say the least. Not having ANY extra money to play with often precludes me going out to most places my friends want to go to. And three, I’m not as young as I used to be, which may sound like a really lame excuse but it’s true. I don’t go out just to “be seen” anymore (did I really ever do that?!?). I’m not looking for a mate, obviously. I’m perfectly happy sitting at home, watching my children play, crocheting a nice afghan or reading a great book. Yes, at the grand old age of 32 I am an avid crocheter and I’m not afraid to admit it. Maybe that’s a true sign of old age, but I don’t care.

If my friends and I all had more time and money and babysitters, we might possibly hang out every single week or more often! Or, maybe not…because I think we would get tired of each other, as much as we love each other. Since we don’t get to hang out all the time, it is very special when we are able.  I imagine sometimes when all of our children are grown and away at college, that we will plan vacations together to exotic locales where we can dream of lurid affairs with cabana boys half our age. We’ll sit and reminisce about our glory days in college and brag about how successful our children are. I suppose it’s not really the quantity, in this case how often we hang out together, as much as it is the quality of the time we get to spend with each other. If that’s the truth, my friends and I are doing just fine!

Mama’s Losin’ It

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bridgesburning
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 11:09:03

    You are doing just fine 🙂 Its all about the quality! just stopped in from Mama Kat to say hi and good post!
    Chris

    Reply

  2. Samantha
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 13:38:06

    Just stopped by from Mama Kat’s.

    I like to spend a lot of time reading, too. I think my husband regrets that Kindle purchase!

    Good luck with the teaching position this fall!!

    Reply

    • Somer
      Jun 16, 2011 @ 14:18:28

      Thank you, Samantha! Job hunt is high on my priority list right now. :-/
      And my husband shares the same regret about my Kindle. Hehehe

      Reply

  3. Jacki
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 09:39:14

    When you struggle to stay awake past 8:00 pm in makes hanging out with friends truly difficult. But what happened to those days when we thought we would literally die if we didn’t speak to our friends for 22 of the 24 hours in a day?

    Reply

    • Somer
      Jun 17, 2011 @ 10:36:23

      I remember practically living with my friends. Either they were at my house or I was at theirs, night and day…because 7 hours a day together at school was certainly not enough time!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

