What Haunts You?

“One need not be a Chamber — to be Haunted
One need not be a House —
The Brain has Corridors — surpassing
material place –”
-Emily Dickinson

Every night when I close my eyes hoping to drift off peacefully to sleep, the thoughts start rolling through my mind as if on a giant marquee: what if…WHAT IF…what if…WHAT IF…

I wonder how my life would be different if I had made one single decision differently. What if I had said, “No.” Two letters. One simple word. One syllable. It would have taken one second to say it. So why didn’t I?

I can probably come up with one thousand reasons why I didn’t say no. I was young. I was too trusting. I needed a job. I – I – I. The fact is, I didn’t say no. There really was no reason for me to at the time. It all seemed very legitimate. And I can’t go back now. I’m truly haunted by this decision every night, but I think as I’ve gotten older it has become less and less scary. The decision that I made ten years ago has very obviously impacted my life in negative ways, but I’d like to think that I’ve built up enough positives to at least break even. I am confident that I will never, ever, ever make a mistake of the same magnitude again. Of course, another consequence is that I am much more wary of trusting people. When making friends, this can be cumbersome, but when making life decisions I think it has become invaluable.

My mind, though, will continue to be at least a little haunted by that one stupid decision. Yes, it was stupid, even though there was absolutely no way I could have known that at the time. I realize I’m being extremely vague here, but I’m sure some of you can relate. My haunted house isn’t open to the public, but it is there for me every night when I close my eyes.

Writer’s Workshop Writing Prompt, courtesy of the Amazing Mama Kat.
Check her out!

Mama’s Losin’ It

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tricia
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 08:43:34

    I have to tell you that I often do the same exact thing. What if I did this, what if this happens…

    No wonder half the nights I don’t get any sleep.

    I too made a decision that has impacted my life but again like you hope that my positives at least make things even.

    Reply

  2. bridgesburning
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 12:06:22

    Very nicely done! Just stopped by from Mama Kat to say hi!
    chris

    Reply

  3. morgan
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 12:38:44

    Regret can be so paralyzing …. hope you can close the door on this haunted house someday.

    Thanks for visiting Snapshots 🙂

    Reply

  4. Michelle Cernick
    Jun 22, 2017 @ 11:30:01

    I was just reading through some of your old posts today and I just had to comment on this particular one. I am a firm believer that everything happens for a reason. There are no accidents and the reason you didn’t say “no” was because you weren’t supposed to. There are so many things that have happened in my life that I have thought if I had just done this, but if I had done one thing differently I might not have my beautiful children or I might not be living in this awesome little town. So don’t beat yourself up. We all screw up and make bad decisions, but the best thing we can do is learn from it. My kids are teenagers and I am very honest with them about some of the stupid decisions that I have made and have told them that I hope they can learn from my mistakes and do better than I did. It is so easy to get taken advantage of when you are young. I know that I have had my fair share of that and now I am a very guarded person. I have friends, but none that I let in completely. I feel safer that way because I am not vulnerable to anyone. I am a much happier person. I just don’t want to see you beating yourself up about something that happened so long ago. I know that you wrote this years ago, but I really wanted to address how you were feeling when you did this post. You just need to ask yourself one question ….If the same situation occurred what would you do? I think you and I both know that the outcome today would be very different because you have learned a very valuable lesson and grown a lot as a person because of what happened. It has made you a stronger person. Same as me…all my trials have made me a very strong woman. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment