If I Knew Now What I Knew Then

Would I do anything differently? If I knew when I was 18 years old what I know now in my early 30s, would I make different choices? Probably. I would hopefully be a better student in college, even though I wasn’t too bad. I would avoid a devastating employment situtation that has shaped my life in a bad way. I would eat better and exercise more. I would choose my friends more carefully.

But, I would only do all of this if I knew that no matter what choices I made differently, that I would still have the same beautiful daughters and loving husband that I have now. If it meant giving any of that up, then I would do everything exactly the same. All of the challenges I have faced, personally, and with my family have not been pleasant, but I know they have made us strong. Thinking back on it, some days I feel like we should be the strongest family EVER because of all we’ve been through. Then I get real and remember just how blessed we’ve been, even if we have had to ask for help along the way.

Many people suffer hardships. Some persevere and some give up. It is true what they say about hindsight, but it is still useless information unless we continue on and learn from the past. I’m trying not to give up because I know I am one of the lucky ones. I have much to be thankful for and very little to be sad about.

It’s up to me to not let the sad things become so magnified that they overshadow everything. That’s harder than it sounds, but at least I have supportive people in my life that I can lean on.

Leave a Reply

