It’s About Time

Everything we do revolves around time, it seems. It may not be the right time for something to happen. It may be too late or too early. You could be right on time. You could have a lot of time on your hands, or not. Time can heal all wounds (supposedly) and it can fly when you’re having fun. A stitch in time saves nine, or so I hear, but what does that even MEAN?

My time, recently (which is, of course, a time-relative word), has been spent taking care of my children at home. I cook and clean, play games and color, teach and listen, clean and cook… I get to relax, too. I read and watch television and crochet a little…and there’s always time to check Facebook, right? I also spend a lot of my time worrying and planning, or trying to plan. I have come to realize that, even though I am a mother, I have vastly underestimated the issues faced by stay-at-home-parents. Also, even though I am a teacher, I have even somewhat underestimated the value of a teacher’s job.

I absolutely know, and have known for a long time, the importance of education beyond academics, but I now appreciate it even more. As much as I love seeing my children learn and know that I am capable of teaching them things they should learn, I know that it will benefit them if I am not their only teacher. (Or, rather, that their father and I are not their only teachers.) I can see the moment when my 5 year old “turns off” and becomes unreceptive to what I’m trying to say. Oh, I know that this happens to teachers, as well. I’ve experienced that plenty of times. In a perfect world, we would have the combined efforts of parents and teachers creating the best learning experiences for every child. Maybe I won’t be able to ensure that for every student I teach in the future, but I can try, and I can definitely try to make that a reality for my children when they begin school. I may have to MAKE TIME to attend school functions and meetings, etc. It’s something I’m more than willing to do.

As for stay at home parents, where do I begin? This is not babysitting. This is not easy. No, obviously, it’s not rocket science. But what IS, other than rocket science? Being a stay at home parent is a challenge in many ways, for the average person. Budgeting can become an obsession. For a couple of teachers, with one currently unemployed, budgeting is more than a necessity. Planning becomes a priority in more areas than money, at least for people like me. If I were to wake up every day without some semblance of a plan, my house would be chaotic to say the least. I have to plan activities for my children – so they don’t get bored and I don’t go crazy. There are bills to pay, errands to run, meals to shop for and cook. For people that work all day, like I used to be, it’s the same but vastly different. It’s hard to explain to someone who hasn’t experienced both worlds, and I don’t really have the time to try…ha-ha!

What I have time for, beyond my daily challenges of parenthood, is thinking. I think myself sick sometimes, so I decided that it’s about time to get some of those thoughts out of my head, and at least out into the ether(net) if not into your head. So, when I have a minute, I’m sure I’ll be sharing something random again. I’ll try not to be too boring.

Leave a Reply

